

CAMS Croatian Academy of Medical Sciences

Praška 2/III, 10000 Zagreb, Croatia Phone: +385 (0)1 46 40 586; 48 28 662 • Fax: +385 (0)1 48 28 038 mail: amzh@zg.t-com.hr www.amzh.hr OIB 22710084385; MB 3249352 ; IBAN: HR 5423600001101481831; Foreign acc. no.: PBZ: 70300-978-9182800-137182



CROATIAN ACADEMY OF MEDICAL SCIENCES

(Academia scientiarum medicarum croatica) – an elite institution of medical sciences and promoter of national science on a worldwide scale CAMS – the third oldest medical academy in the world, member of the IAMP (International Academy Medical Panel) and the FEAM (Federation of European Academies of Medicine) CAMS was founded in 1961 within the framework of the Croatian Medical Association as the Committee for Scientific Research of the Association's General Committee; in 1971 the Committee was renamed into the Academy of Medical Sciences of Croatian Medical Association; in 1983 it was separated from the Croatian Medical Association and since then has acted as Croatian Academy of Medical Sciences. The Academy - supports many scientific projects and performs its activities through 8 scientific collegiums and 14 boards:

- The Collegium of Internal Medicine Sciences
- The Collegium of Surgical Medical Sciences
- The Collegium of Basic Medical Sciences
- The Collegium of Psychiatric Medical Sciences
- The Collegium of Public Health
- The Collegium of Dental Medical Sciences
- The Collegium of Veterinary Medical Sciences
- The Collegium of Pharmaceutical Sciences

In addition to the Collegium, activities are performed through interdisciplinary committees (Croatian Committee for Antibiotic Resistance Surveillance, E-Health Committee, Committee for Apoptosis, Committee for the Rational Use of Medicines, Committee for the Reduction of Salt Intake, Committee for Tissue Banking etc)

- **The Academy** in 2018. comprised 389 members: 273 full members, 48 associate members, 44 foreign honorary members, 5 Croatian honorary members, 17 corresponding members, 2 supporting members.
- The supreme governing body is the General Assembly (elects the new president of the Academy, new members, members of the Senate, the General Council, the Supervisory Board and the Court of Honour)
- The Senate is the supreme advisory board consists of 35 distinguished full members.
- Members of the Academy physicians and scientists active in medicine and health protection who have made important contributions to medicine (they are elected by the Electoral Assembly according to scientific criteria)

- Annual awards "Ante Šercer" and "Borislav Nakić" since 1993 for the most valuable medical publication in the previous year
- The honorary title of laureate given to especially deserving members at a special celebration Dies Academicus

Publishing - more than 162 books

- "Ljetopis" Academy's annual report
- "Acta Medica Croatica" a periodical in Croatian
- "Socijalna psihijatrija" a periodical in Croatian
- "Croatian Medical Journal" a periodical in English
- "Rezistencija bakterija na antibiotike u RH Annual Report of the Antibiotic Resistance in Croatia

• CAMS members - participate in the activities of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts', of the Class of Medical Sciences and the Class of Natural Sciences, Croatian Medical Association and Croatian Medical Chamber

CAMS - organizer and patron of many domestic and international scientific conferences and congresses CAMS seat - Zagreb; three branches: Rijeka, Split, Osijek

STRUCTURE AND ORGANIZATION OF THE ACADEMY

PRESIDENCY OF THE CROATIAN ACADEMY OF MEDICAL SCIENCES:

President First Vice-President Second Vice-President General Secretary Financial Secretary Assistant Secretary Professor Jasna Lipozenčić, MD, PhD Professor Davor Štimac, MD, PhD Professor Željko Krznarić, MD, PhD Professor Kristina Potočki, MD, PhD Professor Davorin Đanić, MD, PhD Assistant Professor Zrinjka Paštar, MD, PhD

PRESIDENTS OF COLLEGIUMS:

The Collegium of Internal Medicine Sciences Professor Ika Kardum-Skelin, MD, PhD The Collegium of Surgical Medical Sciences Professor Dubravko Habek MD PhD The Collegium of Basic Medical Sciences Professor Božo Krušlin, MD, PhD The Collegium of Psychiatric Medical Sciences Professor Miro Jakovliević, MD, PhD The Collegium of Public Health Professor Jadranka Mustajbegović, MD, PhD The Collegium of Dental Medical Sciences Professor Zvonimir Kaić, MD, PhD The Collegium of Veterinary Medical Sciences Professor Želiko Župančić, MD, PhD The Collegium of Pharmaceutical Sciences Professor Stjepan Pepelinjak, MD, PhD

• PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE:

Professor Mladen Belicza, MD, PhD

EDITORS OF JOURNALS:

Acta Medica Croatica Socijalna psihijatrija Professor Petar Kes, MD, PhD Professor Miro Jakovljević, MD, PhD Professor Dražen Begić, MD, PhD

Croatian Medical Journal Professor Tomislav Smoljanović, MD, PhD

• PRESIDENT OF THE CROATIAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION: Professor Željko Krznarić, MD, PhD PRESIDENT OF THE COURT OF HONOUR: Professor Vlado Oberiter, MD, PhD

PRESIDENT OF THE SUPERVISORY BOARD: Professor Mirko Koršić, MD, PhD

PRESIDENT OF THE ETHICAL COMMITTEE: Professor Marko Banić, MD, PhD

PRESIDENT OF THE AWARDS AND RECOGNITIONS COMMITTEE: Professor Šime Mihatov, MD, PhD

PRESIDENCY OF THE ACADEMY BRANCHES

Presidency of the Rijeka Branch, founded June 4, 2014PresidentAcademician Daniel RukavinaVice-PresidentProfessor Davor Štimac, MD, PhDSecretaryProfessor Franjo Gruber, MD, PhDSeat: CMA Branch Rijeka, Trg Republike Hrvatske 2/1,51000 Rijeka, Phone: +385 051 334 542

Presidency of the Split Branch, founded October 23, 2014PresidentProfessor Ivan Urlić, MD, PhDVice-PresidentProfessor Ivo Banović, MD, PhDSecretaryProfessor Miro Morović, MD, PhDSeat: Poljana Grgura Ninskog 7/III, 21000 Split, Phone: +385 021 348 022

Presidency of the Osijek Branch, founded December 4, 2014PresidentProfessor Antun Tucak, MD, PhD, emeritusVice-PresidentProfessor Aleksandar Včev, MD, PhDSecretaryProfessor Zdravko Ebling, MD, PhDSeat: F. Kuhača 29, 31000 Osijek, Phone: +385 91 2241 408